Year 7/Year 8 Stage 4 Atomic Theory – Time line Year 7/ Year 8



Scientists contribution to help us understand atomic theory. :

  1.   John Dalton 1803: All elements are made up of atoms
  2.   JJ Thomson 1897: discovered electrons is negatively charged.
  3.   Rutherford 1898 -1911: Estimated size of atom and concluded that mass of atom is concentrated in the nucleus.
  4. Niels  Bohr 1922: explained that electrons are found at the edge of an atom. electrons are orbiting nucleus. Protons and neutrons are found in the nucleus.

Images from:



Summarised from :

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.